ACS-Sponsored Open Access Publishing for PUIs

Participating Institutions

Find My Institution

If you are associated with any of the Primarily Undergraduate Institutions (PUIs) listed below and are the submitting corresponding author, you may have the opportunity to publish your research in any ACS journal under a CC BY open access license free of charge. This is available for the duration of your institution’s subscription to the ACS All Publications Package. Learn how to publish your next paper OA.

All PUIs qualify to participate in this program. Don’t see your institution? Ask your librarian or your department chair to contact us. Even if your organization does not qualify as a PUI, we can review options for open access publishing support at your institution.

How Do I Publish ?

Step 1

Submit your article to the ACS journal of your choice, making sure you are the submitting corresponding author.

Step 2

Ensure your institution affiliation is correct on your profile in the ACS Paragon Plus submission system.

Step 3

When your manuscript has been accepted for publication, you will be automatically prompted with the option to publish open access under the ACS Sponsored Read & Publish agreement.

Step 4

Confirm that “Yes, I wish to publish open access as per the agreement” and complete the Journal Publishing Agreement.

JPA confirmation

Step 5

Your article will be made immediately available as open access upon publication under a Creative Commons CC BY 4.0 license. There are no charges to pay and no further action required by either you or your institution.


Your final published article will automatically be deposited to US Pub Med Central. Nothing more is required on your part.

List of Qualifying Institutions

  • Adrian College
  • Albright College
  • Alma College
  • Appalachian State University
  • Austin Peay State University
  • Ave Maria University
  • Bard College
  • Bates College
  • Belmont University
  • Bowdoin College
  • Bradley University
  • Bridgewater State University
  • Butler University
  • Calvin University
  • Cedar Crest College
  • Central College
  • Central Connecticut State University
  • Chicago State University
  • Claflin University
  • Colby College
  • Colgate University
  • College of Charleston
  • College of New Jersey
  • College of the Holy Cross
  • Davidson College
  • Depauw University
  • Doane University
  • Dominican University
  • Dordt College
  • Drake University
  • Earlham College
  • Eastern Illinois University
  • Eastern Kentucky University
  • Eastern New Mexico University
  • Eckerd College
  • Elizabeth City State University
  • Elmhurst University
  • Elon University
  • Erskine College & Theological Seminary
  • Fayetteville State University
  • Ferris State University
  • Florida Southern College
  • Francis Marion University
  • Furman University
  • Gonzaga University
  • Governors State University
  • Grand Rapids Community College
  • Grand Valley State University
  • Grinnell College
  • Hamilton College
  • Hanover College
  • Harper College
  • High Point University
  • Hillsdale College
  • Hobart and William Smith Colleges
  • Hope College
  • Houghton University
  • Illinois College
  • Illinois Wesleyan University
  • Indiana Wesleyan University
  • Indiana University Northwest
  • Iona College
  • Keene State College
  • Kettering University
  • Luther College
  • McDaniel College
  • McNeese State University
  • Methodist University
  • Metropolitan State University
  • Missouri State University
  • Monmouth College
  • Mount Holyoke College
  • Nevada State College
  • New Mexico Highlands University
  • Niagara University
  • Northeastern State University
  • Northern Kentucky University
  • Northern Michigan University
  • Oakwood University
  • Olivet Nazarene University
  • Ouachita Baptist University
  • Rhode Island College
  • Rhodes College
  • Rider University
  • Roger Williams University
  • Rollins College
  • Saint Lawrence University
  • Salem State University
  • Shippensburg University
  • Siena College
  • Smith College
  • Southeast Missouri State University
  • Southeastern Oklahoma State University
  • Southern Adventist University
  • Southern Alberta Institute of Technology
  • Southern Arkansas University
  • Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville
  • Southern Nazarene University
  • Southwestern Oklahoma State University
  • State University of New York at Brockport
  • State University of New York at Old Westbury
  • State University of New York at Plattsburgh
  • Stetson University
  • Tarleton State University
  • Texas A&M International University
  • Texas A&M University Galveston
  • Trinity College
  • Union College, New York
  • Union University
  • University of Arkansas Fort Smith
  • University of Central Oklahoma
  • University of Charleston
  • University of Evansville
  • University of Montevallo
  • University of North Alabama
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville
  • University of North Florida
  • University of South Carolina Aiken
  • University of South Carolina Upstate
  • University of Tampa
  • University of Tennessee Martin
  • University of the South
  • University of West Florida
  • University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire
  • University of Wisconsin – GreenBay
  • University of Wisconsin – La Crosse
  • University of Wisconsin – Marinette
  • University of Wisconsin – OshKosh
  • University of Wisconsin – Parkside
  • University of Wisconsin – Platteville
  • University of Wisconsin – River Falls
  • University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point
  • University of Wisconsin – Stout
  • University of Wisconsin – Superior
  • University of Wisconsin – Washington County
  • University of Wisconsin – Whitewater
  • US Air Force Academy
  • US Coast Guard Academy
  • US Military Academy
  • US Naval Academy
  • Utah Valley University
  • Utica College
  • Valparaiso University
  • Vassar College
  • Wabash College
  • Washburn University
  • Wellesley College
  • West Texas A&M University
  • West Virginia State University
  • Western Carolina University
  • Western Connecticut State University
  • Western Kentucky University
  • Wheaton College Illinois
  • Wheaton College Massachusetts
  • Williams College
  • Winston Salem State University
  • Winthrop University
  • Wofford College
  • Xavier University of Louisiana